If you’re having a problem with your landlord and the issue can’t be solved with the help of your tenants’ association or the Office of the Tenant Advocate, you should contact the office of your City Council member.

Whether or not you receive assistance from the Council, a simple phone call or email will help educate our elected officials on the widespread "concession" issue across the rental community. If enough of your neighbors contact your representative, he or she will be much more likely to support our campaign and fight the scam.

Without your help, your elected official may not realize extent to which some landlords and property management companies abuse the rent stabilization laws in our city. In that case, why not ask a neighbor to join in too?

Thirteen members make up the City Council: a representative elected from each of the eight wards; and five members elected at-large, including the Chairman, who represent the whole city. The map to the right will help you figure out what ward you live in. If you’re not sure, find out from the DC government website.  

contact information for the ward members

In addition to your Ward's local representative, don't forget to contact your at-large Councilmembers - especially Anita Bonds, Elissa Silverman, Trayon White, and Robert White who sit on the Committee on Housing and Neighborhood Revitalization.

Ward 1:  Councilmember Brianne K. Nadeau

Ward 2:  Councilmember Jack Evans

Ward 3:  Councilmember Mary Cheh

  • Phone: (202) 724-8062
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @marycheh

Ward 4:  Councilmember Brandon Todd

  • Phone: (202) 724-8052
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @CMBrandonTodd

Ward 5:  Councilmember Kenyan McDuffie

  • Phone: (202) 724-8028
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @CM_McDuffie

Ward 6: Councilmember Charles Allen

  • Phone: (202) 724-8072
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @charlesallen

Ward 7:  Councilmember Vincent Gray

Ward 8: Councilmember Trayon WhiteMember of Housing Committee

  • Phone: (202) 724-8045
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @trayonwhite

At-Large: Councilmember Phil Mendelson, Chairman of the City Council

  • Phone: (202) 724-8032
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @ChmnMendelson

At-Large: Councilmember Anita Bonds, Chairwoman of the Housing Committee

  • Phone: (202) 724-8064 
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @AnitaBondsDC

At-Large: Councilmember Robert White, Jr., Member of Housing Committee

At-Large: Councilmember Elissa Silverman, Member of Housing Committee

At-Large: Councilmember David Grosso

  • Phone: (202) 724-8105
  • Email:
  • Twitter: @cmdgrosso